MINUTES OF A MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF JOHNSON COUNTY COMMUNITY COLLEGE

A special meeting of the Board of Trustees of Johnson County Community College was called to order by the Chair on May 1, 2024, at 7:30 am in MTC 107, on the JCCC campus, 12345 College Boulevard, Overland Park, Kansas. Four Trustees were present in person.

<u>Trustees</u> Melody Rayl Laura Smith-Everett Dawn Rattan Mark Hamill, joined via Zoom Lee Cross, joined via Zoom Valerie Jennings, joined via Zoom Greg Mitchell

Staff Judy Korb, Interim President

Daniel Alexander, Professor English Steve Bennett, Assoc. Professor, Construction Mgt & Technology Eve Blobaum, Professor Sociology Casey Buchanan, Counselor Stacy BurbidgeAssistant Professor Sociology Michael Carriger, Associate Professor English Doug Copeland, Professor Economics Jamie Cunningham, Associate Professor Biology Anne Dotter, Director Honors Megan Doyle, Assoc Prof College Success Dawn Gale, Professor Philosophy of Humanities Scott Gilmore, Professor Industrial Tech Amanda Glass, Assoc Prof Chemistry Laura Harris Gascogne, Professor Fine Arts Barry Herron, Professor Chemistry Monica Hogan, Professor English Lauren Kimball, Assoc Prof Animation Jim Lane, Dean Arts Design Human Soc Sci Cherie Leiker, Professor Business Office Tech Jeff Lewis, Professor Mathematics Rachel Lierz, EVP Finance and Administrative Services Daniel Long, Asst Prof Info Technology Liz Loomis, Sr. Executive Assistant, President's Office

Board of Trustees May 1, 2024 Page 2

Caleb Ludwick, Asst Prof Info Technology Valerie Mann, Assoc Prof College Success Meissa Menning, Assoc Prof Mathematics Caitlin Murphy, Special Assistant to the President Kelsey Nazar, VP and College General Counsel Gideon Ney, Asst Professor Human Science Irene Olivares, Assoc Professor History Lisa Parrott, Asst Prof Bus Administration Ashley Rader, Assoc Prof Comm Studies Peyton Reichert, Asst Prof Bus Administration Emily Sewell, Assoc Prof Comm Studies RW Singh, Assoc Prof Comp Info Systems Gurb Singh, VP Academic Affairs/CAO Yosei Sugawara, Asst Prof Foreign Languages David VanderHamm, Asst Professor Humanities Andrea Vieux, Assoc Prof Political Science Janelle Vogler, VP and Chief Financial Officer Larry Weaver, Professor Physics

QUORUM

Trustee Rayl announced a quorum with four Trustees present in person.

EXECUTIVE SESSION At 7:30 a.m., upon motion by Trustee Smith-Everett, seconded by Trustee Mitchell, which motion carried 4-0 with Trustees Cross, Hamill and Jennings absent during the vote, the Board of Trustees agreed to recess into executive session at 7:35 a.m. until 8:30 a.m. to discuss bargaining status under the employer-employee negotiations exception to the Kansas Open Meetings Act. Dr. Judy Korb, Dr. Mickey McCloud, Rachel Lierz, Dr. Gurbhushan Singh, Jim Lane, Christina McGee, Janelle Vogler, Kelsey Nazar, and Greg Goheen were invited to attend. Trustees Cross, Hamill and Jennings joined executive session by Zoom.

The meeting reconvened at 8:30 a.m. and Trustee Rayl announced that no action had taken place during executive session.

At 8:30 a.m., upon motion by Trustee Mitchell, seconded by Trustee Smith-Everett, which motion carried 4-0, with Trustees Cross, Hamill,

Board of Trustees May 1, 2024 Page 3

> and Jennings absent during the vote, the Board of Trustees agreed to recess into executive session at 8:35 a.m. until 8:55 a.m. to discuss bargaining status under the employer-employee negotiations exception to the Kansas Open Meetings Act. Dr. Judy Korb, Dr. Mickey McCloud, Rachel Lierz, Dr. Gurbhushan Singh, Jim Lane, Christina McGee, Janelle Vogler, Kelsey Nazar, and Greg Goheen were invited to attend. Trustees Cross, Hamill, and Jennings joined executive session by Zoom.

The meeting reconvened at 8:55 a.m. and Trustee Rayl announced that no action had taken place during executive session.

ADJOURNMENT Upon motion by Trustee Cross, seconded by Trustee Rattan, which motion carried 4-0, with Trustees Smith-Everett, Hamill, and Jennings absent during the vote, the Board of Trustees meeting adjourned at 8:55 a.m.

> Melody Rayl Chair

Laura Smith-Everett Vice Chair