## MINUTES OF A MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF JOHNSON COUNTY COMMUNITY COLLEGE

A special meeting of the Board of Trustees of Johnson County Community College was called to order by the Chair on May 15, 2024, at 5:00 p.m. in GEB 137 on the JCCC campus, 12345 College Boulevard, Overland Park, Kansas.

Trustees Melody Rayl, via Zoom at 5:05 p.m.

Laura Smith-Everett

Dawn Rattan, arrived during executive session

Mark Hamill Lee Cross

Valerie Jennings

Greg Mitchell, arrived during executive session

<u>Staff</u> Judy Korb, Interim President

Amanda Glass, Assoc Professor, Chemistry
Rachel Lierz, EVP Finance and Administrative Services
Mickey McCloud, EVP and Provost
Christina McGee, VP of Human Resources
Caitlin Murphy, Special Assistant to the President
Kelsey Nazar, VP and College General Counsel
Irene Olivares, Assoc Professor, History
Gurb Singh, VP Academic Affairs/CAO
Andrea Vieux, Assoc Prof Political Science
Janelle Vogler, VP Chief Financial Officer

QUORUM Trustee Smith-Everett announced a quorum present.

## **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

At 5:00 p.m., upon motion by Trustee Hamill, seconded by Trustee Cross, which motion carried 4-0 with Trustees Mitchell, Rattan, and Rayl absent during the vote, the Board of Trustees agreed to recess into executive session at 5:05 p.m. until 6:05 p.m. to discuss bargaining status under the employer-employee negotiations exception to the Kansas Open Meetings Act. Dr. Judy Korb, Dr. Mickey McCloud, Rachel Lierz, Dr. Gurbhushan Singh, Christina McGee, Janelle Vogler, Kelsey Nazar, and Greg Goheen were invited to attend. Trustee Rayl joined executive session by Zoom.

Board of Trustees May 15, 2024 Page 2

The meeting reconvened at 6:05 p.m. and Trustee Smith-Everett announced that no action had taken place during executive session.

At 6:07 p.m., upon motion by Trustee Smith-Everett, seconded by Trustee Rattan, which motion carried 4-0 with Trustees Cross, Mitchell, and Rayl absent during the vote, the Board of Trustees agreed to recess into executive session at 6:07 p.m. until 6:37 p.m. to discuss bargaining status under the employer-employee negotiations exception to the Kansas Open Meetings Act. Dr. Judy Korb, Dr. Mickey McCloud, Rachel Lierz, Dr. Gurbhushan Singh, Christina McGee, Janelle Vogler, Kelsey Nazar, and Greg Goheen were invited to attend. Trustee Rayl joined executive session by Zoom.

The meeting reconvened at 6:37 p.m. and Trustee Smith-Everett announced that no action had taken place during executive session.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

Upon motion by Trustee Hamill, seconded by Trustee Jennings, which motion carried 5-0, with Trustees Cross and Rayl absent during the vote, the Board of Trustees meeting adjourned at 6:38 p.m.

Melody Rayl	
Chair	
Laura Smith-Everett	
Vice Chair	