MINUTES OF A MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF JOHNSON COUNTY COMMUNITY COLLEGE

A special meeting of the Board of Trustees of Johnson County Community College was called to order by the Chair on June 4, 2024, at 6:30 p.m. via Zoom webinar.

<u>Trustees</u> Melody Rayl

Dawn Rattan Mark Hamill

Lee Cross, joined during executive session

Valerie Jennings

Greg Mitchell, joined during executive session

Staff Judy Korb, Interim President

QUORUM Trustee Rayl announced a quorum with four Trustees present via Zoom

webinar.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

At 6:35 p.m., upon motion by Trustee Mitchell, seconded by Trustee Jennings, which motion carried 4-0 with Trustees Cross, and Hamill absent during the vote, the Board of Trustees agreed to recess into executive session at 6:40 p.m. until 7:40 p.m. to discuss bargaining status under the employer-employee negotiations exception to the Kansas Open Meetings Act. Dr. Judy Korb, Dr. Mickey McCloud, Rachel Lierz, Dr. Gurbhushan Singh, Jim Lane, Christina McGee, Janelle Vogler, Kelsey Nazar, and Greg Goheen were invited to attend. Trustees Cross, and Hamill joined the executive session via Zoom.

The meeting reconvened at 7:40 p.m. and Trustee Rayl announced that no action had taken place during executive session.

At 7:45 p.m., upon motion by Trustee Mitchell, seconded by Trustee Rattan, which motion carried 4-0, with Trustees Jennings and Hamill, absent during the vote, the Board of Trustees agreed to recess into executive session at 6:40 p.m. until 7:40 p.m. to discuss bargaining status under the employer-employee negotiations exception to the Kansas Open Meetings Act. Dr. Judy Korb, Dr. Mickey McCloud, Rachel Lierz, Dr. Gurbhushan Singh, Jim Lane, Christina McGee, Janelle Vogler, Kelsey Nazar, and Greg Goheen were invited to attend. Trustees Cross, and Hamill joined the executive session via Zoom.

Board of Trustees June 4, 2024 Page 2

The meeting reconvened at 8:10 p.m. and Trustee Rayl announced that no action had taken place during executive session.

ADJOURNMENT

Upon motion by Trustee Cross, seconded by Trustee Jennings, which motion carried 5-0, with Trustee Hamill absent during the vote, the Board of Trustees meeting adjourned at 8:11 p.m.

Melody Rayl Chair	
Laura Smith-Everett	